Schemes explained

Stroma Certification offers a number of schemes to certify the capabilities and competence of installers, assessors and organisations throughout the energy efficiency and construction sectors and beyond. Certification awarded through our schemes enables energy assessors, tradespeople and businesses to carry out work which is recognised as meeting the requirements of relevant industry and Government standards and bodies.

We carry out regular audits and assessments of our members to determine that they remain compliant with industry guidelines and legislature. This ensures work is being carried out to a safe and high standard and enables our members to continue their membership of our schemes to carry out certified work. It is possible that our members may be certified under more than one of these schemes depending on their capabilities.

Assessor schemes

Stroma Approved

Air Conditioning Energy Assessment (ACEA)

A scheme to certify assessors carrying out assessments of the efficiency and performance of air-conditioning systems and equipment.

Code for Sustainable Homes (CSH)

Certification for CSH assessors to check the levels of sustainability and energy efficiency (such as carbon dioxide emissions, waste and water usage) in new-build dwellings.

Domestic Energy Assessment (DEA)

Provides Domestic Energy Assessors (DEAs) with certification to carry out energy assessments in existing UK domestic properties. DEAs are also able to create and submit Energy Performance Certificates (EPCs) of the energy performance of these properties.

Public Building Assessment (DEC)

Certification for Public Building assessors to carry out energy assessments on public buildings and submit Display Energy Certificates (DECs) with all energy efficiency results of the building.

Domestic on Construction Energy Assessment (DOCEA)

Certifies energy assessors to perform assessments to determine the energy performance of new domestic properties in line with the requirements of the Standard Assessment Procedure (SAP).

Energy Savings Opportunity Scheme (ESOS)

Designed to certify Lead Energy Assessors assessing organisations for compliance with ESOS. ESOS is a mandatory energy assessment scheme for UK organisations (of a certain criteria) to determine if they are meeting energy performance requirements.

Non-Domestic Energy Assessment (NDEA)

Enables Non-Domestic Energy Assessors (NDEAs) to carry out energy assessments in non-domestic properties and submit corresponding energy performance reports through an EPC.


A certification scheme for Inventory Clerks carrying out inventories to determine the items and their condition in a property before and after occupation.


Enables energy assessors to check for the risk and the presence of legionella bacteria in a domestic rental property when carrying out energy assessments.

Section 63

Certification for NDEAs to lodge Section 63 Action Plans in Scotland. Section 63 requires an additional assessment and supporting Action Plan document alongside the EPC of non-domestic buildings over 1000m2 in Scotland to identify how the energy performance of these buildings can be improved.

Company schemes

Stroma Approved

Building Information Modelling (BIM)

Helps organisations in the construction sector demonstrate compliance against the Government required BIM Level 2. BIM Level 2 provides a set of standards which businesses must meet in digitally managing all aspects of construction.

Find out more about Stroma Certification with our Consumer Advice, or call 01977 665 420 to speak to a member of our team.

4 Pioneer Way, Castleford, West Yorkshire, WF10 5QU

T | 0330 124 9660*

©Stroma Certification Ltd 2020

*Calls cost 7p per minute plus your phone company's network access charge or call 0330 124 9660.